The Paint Chip Quilt

I thought this was my second quilt project, but forgot to include The Benjamin Quilt, which was technically my VERY FIRST QUILT COMPLETED! The thing with baby quilts is that I pull them together, send them off with much love, and completely forget about them.

This, my third quilt top, came together MUCH more quickly than The Hex Quilt.

IMG_9055
June 9, 2010: I order a kona cotton spectrum pack and need to play with colors IMMEDIATELY!

IMG_9070IMG_9075
June 9, 2010: Sampling different arrangements. (There was a lot of this.)


June 10, 2010: Starting to piece it all together.


June 11, 2010: Continuing to piece it all together.

IMG_9147
June 11, 2010: Even I’m amazed by how quickly this happened.

IMG_9681
June 13, 2010: Finished quilt top, on display!

At which point I set it aside, hoping to finish The Hex Quilt before picking it up again. While time passed, I discovered my distaste for machine-quilting, and made a new friend who offered to teach me how to hand-quilt (in exchange, I taught her english paper piecing) – I liked the idea of incredibly random quilting lines paired with this boxy, structured arrangement of colors.

IMG_8727
January 2011: Learning to hand-quilt.

I can't stop staring.
January 2011: quilting, quilting, quilting (this always takes more time than expected)

TheShuckster-6628

February 2012: On display at The Shuckster!

TheShuckster-6593

One thought on “The Paint Chip Quilt

  1. Those quilts are BEAUTIFUL!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 257 other followers

